Hey designers! For sure if you’ve come to this post then its either, - Your inner artist just isn’t willing to let you give up on the whole process of rendering an exterior scene and the hassle of getting everything to look just right
- You don’t have a render engine
- You have a deadline coming up and can’t afford to have your machine crippled..
Step 1
First we start by getting the view we want. To do so choose a view from the ‘Views’ toolbar and then head over to Camera>Parallel Projection. **Make sure you don’t move your model around so the images line up easily later on.

- Make sure that you choose a PNG file type.
- Click on ‘Options’.
- Choose a high resolution for your image, and make sure ‘Transparent Background’ is checked.
- Export your images to the same folder for easy access.
- You only need to do this once, your preferences are saved for future use.
Image 01: Hidden Line
Basically what you do is go to View>Face Style>Hidden Line.**
Image 02: Textures
View>Face Style>Shaded with Textures.**
Image 03: Shadows
For this you need to disable your lines (View>Edge Style and uncheck ‘Edges’) and you need to go back to ‘Hidden Line’ face style.**
Afterwards you need to turn on your shadows by either using the ‘Shadows’ window (Window>Default Tray>Shadows for 2017 and 2016 or Window>Shadows for older versions).
Step 2
Open your Photoshop and add all 3 exported images. Layer your images on top of each other (if they are open in multiple tabs, drag them into a single tab). Name your layers (double click the layer labels in the Layers tab) so you can easily know what’s what and put them in the order shown below (drag and drop).
Step 3
Using the ‘Magic Eraser’ tool (right click the Eraser) and delete any background colors that may have been exported (do so on all 3 layers). On the Hidden Line image, remove the color of the model and keep the lines only. **To make that task easier, uncheck ‘Contiguous’ so it removes all the colors of the same hue that you don’t need in one click. **Use the ‘eye’ icon next to each layer to hide what you’re not working on so you don’t get confused, this will also help you keep track of which layer you’re on so you can avoid making mistakes.

Step 4
Using the ‘Magic Wand’ tool, and on the Lines layer, select the areas with shadows in them.
- Open the brush palette.
- Choose one of the very soft brushes (depending on the size of the area selected).
- make sure ‘Hardness’ is 0%.
- Make sure ‘Range’ is ‘Midtones’.



As for the treat I promised: for practice purposes, I’ve uploaded some images from the model I used to make this tutorial so you can hone your technique! They’re from another side of the house just to add a little challenge to the practice 🙂 You can download them HERE.
If you have any questions or suggestions, leave a comment and I’ll reply as soon as I get the notification.
Make sure you sign up to get all the latest updates right to your inbox.

Leave a Reply